Jun E Caniel

A Jun E Walk

In Daily Inspiration, Thoughts on July 10, 2011 at 12:05 pm

As a single footstep will not make a path on the earth, so a single thought will not make a pathway in the mind. To make a deep physical path, we walk again and again.

The word walk is descended from the Old English wealcon “to roll”. In human and other bipeds, walking is generally distinguished from running in that only one foot at a time leaves contact with the ground and there is a period of double-support. Yesterday I did something I haven’t done in a while. I walked 5 miles home, with my suit in my hand, and back pack on my shoulders. It reminded me of my childhood, which was filled with long walks. Looking back I had no concept of miles, and no feeling in my feet. I remember running around barefooted, with my one pair of jeans at that time. It brought back memories of the terrain of St Thomas.  Back then walking up an alley was no guarantee you were going to live when you got to the end. Life was a little tougher for us back then.

Now I walk because I want to. I walk because I’m free. I walk to remind my feet that they are not to good for it. I walk for the people who have no feet. I walk for the people who don’t have anything to eat.  I walk with confidence, knowing I will make it to the end! Life is nothing but a long walk. I was reminded of one of my favorite songs, “Its not an Easy road”, by Buju Ba
nton.  In life when your tired, keep walking. Success is often right around the corner from giving up. When your feet start hurting and your shoulders get tight, think about the people who no long have the opportunity to walk on earth. Walk!

Leave a Reply

